Ticking Time Bomb

It’s the 1st of July, another month closer to the end of the semester. Why do I feel like I’m a living time bomb? Another month has passed, nearing my explosion and thus, my death. I used to wish or even demand for the semester to come and go quickly so I can enjoy the semestral break. Apparently, when you’re doing your thesis, the opposite happens. Time just goes so quickly! It’s as if it’s mocking me to run after it and go way past it. Can’t it just take a pause and rest for awhile? A very long while. [insert grabbing hair in frustration here] If I’m the time bomb, my thesis is the detonator and the ones holding that detonator are my thesis adviser and panel members.

God, I’m so nervous. Why is time suddenly going way too fast? It was only June last night, for crying out loud!

I need to get myself together. I have traveled a very long and difficult road to get to where I am right now. I can almost see the “light”. I guess there always comes a time when you’re close to finishing something you have worked hard for, you suddenly get cold feet. You suddenly think, “Am I really almost there?” “Is it almost over?” “Is everything really going to be okay?” “Is this for real?!”

Don't give up now. You are closer than you think.

Don’t give up now. You are closer than you think.

But I can’t possibly give up now, not when I know that I am closer than I think. I guess I’ll have to just look back and remember the sleepless nights, the sacrifices, the tears I’ve shed over the years just to get to where I am right now.

First things first, I have to get way past the experiments I still have to do before I can start writing my thesis manuscript, then, thesis defense. Then…

GRADUATION.

The top of the mountain, the light at the end of a long road, the goal. One word. But more than enough to make every hardship worth it.

Dont-Give-Up

Always remember, it will be worth it.

17 thoughts on “Ticking Time Bomb

  1. The days are long but the years are short. I’ve felt the pressures of flying time and it has resulted in some anxiety-ridden rants, in which I ramble on about not being able to FIT IT ALL IN. I used to welcome July; now, it’s arrival seems all too soon…

    Cheering you on from central Illinois!! Keep on rambling 🙂

    • True. Sometimes, I wish we have longer hours and days just so I can finish everything I have to do. Since that’s not possible, I’ll have to settle for proper time management, I guess.

      Thank you for the support! I can do this! 🙂

      • Are you a Harry Potter fan? I could go for Hermione’s time turner; though, I’m sure it would do me in…I fear I’d lose myself in the act of “doing, doing, doing” instead of ever being.

        • Yes! I sort of wanted that time turner given to Hermione! True, we might end up getting so focused on trying to do a lot of things at the same time that we might end up getting so worn out. Also, one thing that makes time so precious is that once you’ve spent it, you can’t get it back so it has to be well spent. If we can always go back and forth through time, it might lose its importance and value. 😦

  2. Feels weird, right? You used to wish that the sem would just go faster but now you wish it would go slower. Here’s the best advice I can give… savor the moment. 🙂 Trust me, you’re going to miss everything. 🙂

    • Yes! Every time I look at a calendar nowadays, I automatically cringe. I guess I’ll have to try to look at the bright side and think that soon it’s going to be over. 🙂

      I think what you’re saying is true. When I finally graduate and have a job I’d probably look back and think why I wanted time to go by fast when college is actually much better than the real world…? Hahaha

      Thanks for dropping by. 🙂

  3. We hurt past events to get to the next, and when we get there we wish we hadn’t been in such a hurry. If we were confident that no matter the outcome it would be okay, perhaps we could enjoy the “now” a little more. Good luck with your studies!

    • Yes. That’s the thing, we don’t always have the assurance that the outcome is going to be okay that’s why we forget to enjoy the simple things in the present because we always try to think about the result. 😦

      Thank you! I really need all the luck I can get. Thank you for dropping by, too. 🙂

  4. I know exactly how you feel; been there, done that. I remember when I was doing my doctoral dissertation I have to send text messages to my statistician at 3 o’clock in the morning and hope that she’ll read it when she wakes up. I was really surprised that she answered every text message I sent to which I exclaimed: “huh, you are also awake ma’am?”. And she answered, “yes, now I am sure you will be one of us – a Ph.D. Congratulations”.

    That was the best motivation I ever got – the ‘push’ I needed to believe that graduation is possible for me.

    My unsolicited advice: Just do it one piece at a time and be consistent. Remember that your goal is to finish everything, not on time but ahead of time. Somewhere along the way don’t forget to engage in some fun activities. They will energize you and fire you up to keep moving forward.

    Congratulations.

    • What did you take for your PhD? If you don’t mind me asking. 🙂 Thank you for sharing your experience with your thesis. It’s never bad to knowsom eone else have gone through what you’re currently going through and have succeeded. That’s another push for me. That I too, can do it. 🙂

      Thank you for the advice, I really do appreciate it. I need all the motivation and advice I can get to get through with this. That is true. I still try to engage in other fun activities just so I won’t be so fed up with my thesis. It would be really bad if I lose the drive to finish this when I’m already almost there. 😀

  5. I love history too :). I like the history of Europe from the first century AD to the eighteenth century, but I like Medieval very much. I also love archaeology and antropology. Sometimes I read about the history of South and North America, Asia.

    • They’re very interesting topics, right? 😀 I wish I can go back to the past and see how things happened in person. It’s one thing reading about them, discovering their artifacts and another to be actually there and experience it even just as an observer. 🙂

      Thanks for dropping by! 😀

Comments are highly encouraged. Hope you leave one. :)