Officially Unemployed!

Every time I try to put into writing all these thoughts in my head, I seem to find myself at a loss of words. I kept telling myself I was too busy to spend just enough time to sit down and write whatever it was I was feeling at the moment. While I was on hiatus, one important life event happened to me (haha! Too much Facebook ugh)

I’m officially unemployed!

Yeppp. Yours truly is a proud graduate with a Bachelor’s degree in Chemistry under her belt! πŸ˜€

I could still remember that day. I had to pass my thesis manuscript with the acceptance sheet and I was going crazy about the possibility that I might not be able to submit it on time what with the deadline being that day. I already had finished my thesis defense daysss before and my manuscript as well but what made everything hard was making the important people to sign my acceptance sheet. When I finally was able to complete the required signatures, it was LITERALLY a few minutes before the deadline which was 5PM. I think I submitted it around 4:58PM or something. NO KIDDING. It made me so damn nervous. Thinking that all the hard work I did during the semester would be in vain if the manuscript wasΒ  not submitted on time.

I kept thinking about Murphy’s Law at that moment. I was damn close and what can go wrong might really go wrong then and there. Luckily, I survived the ordeal.

It felt so surreal. In fact, I didn’t feel like I’ve really graduated then and there. I don’t know. I mean, that was it? I guess I kind of expected something grand to happen. Like maybe someone throwing confetti and a banner would show up that said, “Congratulations! You’ve finally graduated!”

I was so paranoid I had asked the college secretary to double check my records so as to confirm that I have really completed the required units for my degree. We never really know, I mean, I could have missed taking one more PE subject or had an incomplete or I’ve failed a subject I thought I passed. I didn’t stop at that, I also checked my grades and subjects online AND went back to the College Secretary’s office and requested for a Certificate of Graduation (since I can’t get my diploma until I’m cleared from the university). I have developed this habit of looking at my certificate just to make sure that it’s all real. They won’t give me that certificate if it wasn’t true, right?

I was that paranoid. And I guess, it was just hard to believe. After all these years, finally! I did it. You know that feeling you get when you worked so hard for something, waited for such a long time to achieve a certain goal that when you’ve already succeeded in obtaining that goal, you just… You just can’t believe it. You’re happy, sure.

But dreaming about it, working your way through is different from finally being there.

What I’m currently waiting for now is my graduation which will be this April. I’m what you’d call a first semester graduate so I had to wait until after the 2nd semester is over for me to have that graduation march.

NEXT GOAL: PASS THE CHEMIST LICENSURE EXAM!

8 thoughts on “Officially Unemployed!

  1. I wish you all the best and all the success my friend. With hard work, patience and faith in yourself, you will reach your dream. I was once in your shoes. My family was my strength when I was waiting too for my dreams to happen. It also gave me the chance to bond more with them which I realize know was never enough since I’m now in a different country.

    • Thank you! πŸ™‚ I hope so too especially now that I’m another step closer to one of my goals. It’s a good thing that my family is very supportive because I really need all the support that I can get at the moment. πŸ˜€

  2. From one iskolar ng bayan to another: Congrats! You’ll definitely pass the chemistry licensure exams. You have to. You need to. Dahil hindi kakayanin ng sikmura mo na grumadweyt ka sa UP at hindi ka makapasa ng board. Kamumuhian mo ang sarili mo. hahahaha! Kaya mo yan!

    • I KNOWWW! DAPAT TALAGA UGH. HAHAHAHA. Hindi ata option ang failure lalo na’t ang taas ng passing rate ng UP, haha! Pero kahit na sabihin natin na di ako sa UP nag-aral, kelangan ko parin pumasa! Failure is not an option. Haha

      BTW, thank you! Ganyan yung gusto kong klase ng motivation at pag-eencourage eh. Realistic, haha. πŸ˜›

  3. Good luck! And it’s a good thing you checked. When I completed my masters I assumed everything was set. But a teacher forgot to post a grade and I was lying on my resume. it’s all fixed now. I do have a masters, just the date is wrong.

Comments are highly encouraged. Hope you leave one. :)