Reading addiction

If someone asked me if I have an addiction, I’d say yes.

Reading.

The first time I got addicted to reading was when I was in third grade. I remember being fascinated when we had our tour inside the library. And I can still remember the first book that paved the way to my relationship with countless others. It was a Sherlock Holmes book. His adventures had been my favorite then and it’s still my favorite now. I LOVE YOU, SHERLOCK! ❀

Since that first book, I always went back to the library to borrow more and for a third grader, I didn’t realize that what I was reading was a bit complex for my age. I was into Charles Dickens, Jane Austen, Emily Bronte, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Shakespeare and so many more other classical authors. When I grew older, my readings become more diverse. With another book finished, there were still thousands of others waiting for me to discover.

I really love reading. I can go on for days not doing anything else but just read books or e-books. Of course I prefer real books to e-books but the latter is way cheaper than the former and so I have no choice. I have to wait for book sales or bookstores selling pre-loved books so as to buy the books I want at a cheaper price.

Books I got at the 35th Manila International Book Fair :)

Books I got at the 35th Manila International Book Fair πŸ™‚

IMG_20140118_231013

Bought all these for only 300php at the National bookstore Warehouse Sale! πŸ™‚

Β I have this dream that one day, I’ll have my own library and I’ll buy all the books that I’ve already read before from libraries, e-books or from friends who were kind enough to let me borrow what they already had. But I’m still a long way from there. So far, I only have a little more than 50 books though I’ve probably read thousands of books from libraries, e-books, and from friends. It’s a sad and depressing thought actually. I often torture myself, going to bookstores and looking at books, reading their back covers then going out of the place empty handed. Still, I kept on coming back.

I don’t know why I like to read. Maybe my life isn’t as adventurous or exciting as those in books and I crave that? Or maybe I get a high from imagining the things I’ve read the same way drug addicts get high from whatever it is they take?

Like any other vice, there’s a downside to getting addicted to reading. I often fail to do the other important things I have to do because I prioritize reading a book/e-book I’ve come across. It makes me unproductive, just sitting or lying down reading instead of say, doing that Chemistry problem set due tomorrow, or that manuscript that needs revision and countless more others.

Despite knowing this… *singing ala Miley Cyrus in her song We Can’t Stop*

I can’t stop. No, I won’t stooop. πŸ˜›

12 thoughts on “Reading addiction

  1. Waaaah! We have the same dream!! You know having a house or corner in your house where all your book are placed! Lovely, lovely sight! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  2. I’m addicted as well. And I’m impressed–those are great authors at such a young age. The first book I remember falling in love with was The Hobbit. One day I want a library with one of those ladders and a cozy chair by the fire.

    • I didn’t realize at that time that they were great authors and I’m glad that I did read their works. Too bad I can’t really remember most of the stories anymore that’s why I want to read them again.

      The Hobbit is in my currently reading list, it’s wonderful! πŸ™‚ Yes, me too! Also, like the Beast’s library in Beauty and the Beast. πŸ™‚

  3. Reading is one addiction that does not have any detrimental effects to your health or wealth. Well yeah if you get carried away you may miss out on other fun things in life πŸ™‚

    • I think it can have detrimental effects on wealth as I often become broke after buying lots of books, haha! That’s true, sometimes I just want to stay in bed and read a book instead of going out with friends or doing something fun. I’m trying to control that urge though. πŸ™‚

      Thanks for dropping by! πŸ™‚

  4. That’s a wonderful dream to have! I inherited my library from my grandmother (she spent a lifetime putting it together) and now I carry one the nice tradition! Go for it, it’s the best feeling ever to scan through your private library indecisive of what to read today πŸ˜€

    • Wow! You inherited a library? That’s so cool! πŸ˜€ It’s good to know that you also inherited your grandma’s love for books. πŸ™‚ True, that’s how I see myself too, going inside my personal library thinking, “Hmm. What am I going to read today?” And be indecisive because there’s lots to choose from. πŸ˜€

  5. I never read the classics in my younger years and it’s a huge regret in my life. 😦
    Our government must strictly implement the requirement that filipino children read more. And honestly speaking, textbooks by domestic authors are very limiting and not as good as foreign authors. Harsh, but true. It’s all about business for them.

    • I feel bad because I do prefer foreign authors to local ones. Maybe because I grew up reading only those. However, I do believe that there are local authors that are really good writers and aren’t really limiting. I just don’t know much about them or their works since most people I know prefers foreign authors too. It’s actually one of my goals, to read books written by local authors. Like what they say, “Tangkilikin ang sariling atin.” πŸ™‚

Comments are highly encouraged. Hope you leave one. :)