Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreign

It’s been awhile since the last time I’ve participated in the Weekly Photo Challenge. Well, for my “comeback”, here’s my take on this week’s theme. πŸ™‚

A torn heart-shaped balloon I placed on a Physics book.

I once met this guy in Physics class (I was a sophomore in college) with whom I fell in love with and the feeling was foreign because that was the first time I fell in love (Oh such happiness! πŸ˜› ). Later on, he broke my heart when we broke up and the feeling was foreign as well because that was the first time I felt that kind of pain (Geez, it really did hurt I’m telling you, lol).

Coincidentally, my roommate had this heart shaped balloon which she gave to me, however, it blew up. I had my Physics book beside me then so I had this crazy idea of taking this photo of the torn heart-shaped balloon on the Physics book as a symbol of how I had my heart beat and get broken because of that guy in Physics class. πŸ˜€

Fixing a broken heart by Kayaking in Lake Balinsasayao πŸ˜€

Of course, it’s either I cry in a hole for having my heart broken or get out there and have fun! Since there’s no point in crying over spilled milk, I decided to cry then clean the mess and do something else while moving on. Hence, I traveled alone and visited some of my high school friends who were studying in a different university in another city.

That was the first time I traveled alone for pleasure and sight seeing. My friends accompanied me to different tourist destinations in there place and I even tried kayaking for the first time in one of their famous lakes. The feeling of being able to do all of that was definitely foreign.

From that moment on, I told myself that even if I’m still in college, I’d travel as much as I can and learn to experience a lot of things foreign.Β 

So far, so gooood. \m/

25 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreign

  1. I am glad that you had managed very well in mending a broken heart. Like you said, there’s no use crying over spilled milk that gets spoiled anyway. You have a wonderful entry and I love how you interpreted this week’s theme: foreign.

  2. ngayon ko lang napansin na studyante ka pa pala! and you right so well from the heart. πŸ™‚
    no worries getting broken is part of growing up, trust me pagsisihan din nya yun at ikaw ay bonggang bonggang lilitaw na parang shining shimmering na prinsessa once makaget.ove ka. OKs diba? hehe

    epic naman ng Kayak by the Lake trip nyo!!! keep travelling.

    • Haha! Yup, graduating! *fingers crossed*

      Kayo kasing mga lalaki eh, sakit sa puso at ulo. Chos! Haha. Ayoko naman mag shimmer, but I don’t mind looking like a princess, haha! But it’s okay, I’ve moved on. Ganun talaga, people come and go. πŸ™‚

      Yup, I intend to. Kaya eto, todo tipid sa allowance para lang makagala kung saan saan. πŸ˜€

  3. I believe to get outside and do stuffs which we enjoy doing is the best way to mend a broken heart. Nicely written and a really well presented post. πŸ™‚

  4. Btw, advance happy graduation anak. I am very sure that in time, you will find Mr. Right. Nothing to be in a hurry. You are so young, talented and beautiful. I am so sure you hold the future with those assets.

  5. I’m kind of glad you are beginning to get the necessary experiences to make you a better and stronger person. For a pretty lady like you, there’ll be more guys to come. Just don’t let them break your spirit. Simply enjoy the ‘journey.” πŸ™‚ And do a lot of travelling. Very good for the soul.

    • I agree. In fact, it seemed liberating somehow and right now, I pretty much enjoy being not in a relationship. Less restrictions and less pain, haha! But I’m thankful for the experience. It might’ve not worked out but like what you said, it made me a stronger person. πŸ™‚

      Yes! I really want to travel a lot. Right now, I’m saving up for a trip outside the country since most of my travels are only from city to city. Hopefully, next year. πŸ˜€

  6. I hope your heart has fully recovered. It is never easy to experience a broken heart. But one thing good is that love and it’s effects gets less foreign and foreign as time goes by. It is one of the most precious gifts in life. Beautiful heart shaped balloon book mark.

    • I’m confident enough to say that, yes! It’s already healed. πŸ™‚ True, it was not easy and it could be very painful at times but, still, an experience worthy of those hardships. πŸ™‚

      Thanks! Remembering my state that time, I can’t help but laugh at myself for being so metaphoric, giving meaning to every normal thing happening such as the balloon being torn and a Physics book nearby at that moment. πŸ˜€

  7. Ah, one’s first love. It’s exciting and then heartbreaking. I still remember mine. Nature always has a way of healing my soul. Glad you were able to take some time to travel and be with friends. Friends are so important throughout life.

    • Hi, Laura! From time to time, I join the Weekly Photo Challenge by Post A Day and Weekly Writing Challenge by The Daily Post. πŸ™‚

      They have cool themes every week. Maybe you’d want to check it out, too. πŸ™‚

Comments are highly encouraged. Hope you leave one. :)