A Thief in the Night

Yesterday night, I heard that a local celebrity got into a road accident (I think the bus skidded off the road and fell over a cliff) and was one of the passengers who died instantly. It was all over the news and my News Feed was full of posts saying how sad they were that he was gone. That he may have died young but he lived a meaningful life. I never knew him personally, just another celebrity who made me laugh when I was younger. Still, it caught me off guard. I didn’t expect that and I still can’t believe it happened to him. And it also made me realize how unpredictable life–and death– can be. I once said in a blog entry that,

“Death is like a thief in the night. You can never be sure when it’s going to come and rob you of something precious–your life.”

At some point, each one of us is going to die. Millions die everyday. It can be because of a disease, old age, or an accident.  I’m not afraid over the likelihood that I may die any time. However, thinking about the possible death of someone I love or someone very important to me? That I’m really afraid of. I understand old age or disease, at least I’d be able to prepare myself when the time comes. But accidents? They’re another matter. I’ll never be prepared for that. I already get teary eyed just thinking about the possibility that what if later on today, tomorrow or a few months from now, my parents, younger brother, relative or a very close friend gets into an accident and doesn’t make it out alive…

Especially my family. I don’t know how I’ll cope up with that. Hell, it took me a year to get over a silly college heartbreak. What more for the death of my… Ugh, I don’t know if I can handle that kind of pain. I’d probably cry for months. Even writing this down makes me teary eyed already. As if a part of me is ripped out. I think death can do that to a person. Even watching a TV show or a movie with someone dying in it makes me cry really hard, as if I’m the one who lost somebody. And it’s just a show for God’s sake! How much more if it’s real?What if something happens to my family? How will I ever be able to deal with that? I think I’ll never be ready for that possibility. And that’s the problem, it’s very possible. It’s there, lurking in the shadows. Looking… Waiting…

They say that death ends a life, not a relationship. You can say whatever you want to ease the pain. That they’re in a happy place or that as long as you think of them, they will still be there. That their memories will stay with you for as long as you live. Still, you can’t change the fact that it’s a period at the end of a sentence, the last chapter of the book for that someone so dear  to you. It will never ever be the same. They will never be there anymore for anything that happens in your life. 😦

These are sad and scary thoughts. I don’t want to think about all these things but I can’t bring myself to not think about it.

Ah, shit. *sigh*

9 thoughts on “A Thief in the Night

  1. I’m like you. I know I’ll die. But I don’t want to deal with losing loved ones. Losing my grandparents was rough and they were in their late 80s. I hope neither of us has to experience it anytime soon. Sorry to hear about the celebrity.

  2. I share your thoughts. Death is an eye opener that nothing is permanent. That we we need to make the most of today because tomorrow, life may be taken like a thief in the night. That we need to make sure we let the people we care the most know that they are loved and make the most of what time we have everyday.

    • That’s what makes life precious, the knowledge that it isn’t permanent and you never really know when it’s going to end for you or for someone you love. Everyday is always a chance to live life to the fullest. 🙂 Though I’m not the type to openly tell the people I care about how much they mean to me, I hope they see it in my actions like how I try to make them happy. 🙂

  3. It’s the topic nobody would enjoy talking or writing about, even though it’s the most inevitable thing in life.

    I believe no amount of maturity can really lessen our fear of death and/or ease the pain of losing a loved one. That’s one of the main reasons religion was invented, not to mention the notion of life after death.

    Acceptance is all there is with regards to this matter. Still, it’s never that easy.

    Quite a thoughtful post. It’s good to read about your honest thoughts.

  4. I was also in great disbelief when I heard of that news.

    Kababayan! Hahahaha. Kababayan pala tayo. ^_^

    Oo nga noh. Mahirap talaga. Pero ganon eh, wala tayong magagawa. Anyway, they say that death is a reward, coz dead ones can meet Him already (if they’re destined to be there with Him above). The best thing we can do is just to live life to the fullest, cliche, but so true.

Comments are highly encouraged. Hope you leave one. :)